Wrapping up the 2016 Annual Summer Conference

Last week, OACAA held the 2016 Annual Summer Conference, which was hosted by Community Action Commission of Erie, Huron, and Richland Counties, and welcomed over 200 Community Action professionals from across the state back to Sawmill Creek Resort in Huron, Ohio. The full schedule of plenary sessions, breakout classrooms, awards, and recognitions kept attendees busy and learning throughout the conference.

Breakout sessions included four tracks: Agency Board of Directors, Reentry, Fiscal/HR, and History of the War on Poverty. Agency staff members were recognized for their years of service including Beverly Ferguson of Clinton County Community Action Program who celebrated 50 years of service this year!

On Thursday during lunch, OACAA and The Ohio State University’s John Glenn College of Public Affairs honored three Community Action agencies and programs with Exemplary Program Awards. The designation of exemplary programs, formerly known as Best Practices Awards, are reserved for agencies that demonstration outstanding results in supporting individuals and families on the path to self-sufficiency. To find out more about the awardees IMPACT Community Action, West Ohio Community Action Partnership, and Supports to Encourage Low-income Families and their programs recognized, click here. Winners of the Curtis Brooks Scholarship Fund, Alivia Weiner and Jennifer Hall, were also announced on Friday.

We would like to thank our sponsors, advertisers, and exhibitors. Their support enabled us to provide great snacks and beverages throughout the conference to recharge all of our guests. A special thank you goes out to our meal and break sponsors Applied Energy Products and Sales, Wichert Insurance, and Selective Insurance.

Activity from throughout the conference can be viewed on Facebook and Twitter using #OH16ASC, and photos are now available on Flickr. We look forward to seeing everyone again at our trainings and conferences throughout the rest of this year and at the 2017 Winter Legislative Conference in January! Stay tuned to our website and social media for updates.